Human vs. Journalist

Posted on January 12, 2011

0


I have to interview one of Otterbein’s most prominent administrators about his sudden resignation this morning, and last night, when I told my roommate that I was worried that I would make him angry with some of my questions, she asked why I was worried about making him angry? Was I afraid he was going to yell at me?

No, actually…I’m just afraid I’ll get kicked out of his office and won’t get the story I need…

She then laughed and told me that I was “such a journalist.”

Don’t get me wrong, I am proud of this statement. And, of course I’m not going to go in there guns blazing and grill him with about as much class as a rattlesnake. There’s a line between human and journalist, and I plan on straddling that line to get the best of both. And I think that straddling this line is one of the most important skills to have in today’s journalism world of corruption and tragedy in the media. Just sayin.

Here’s a link too: I know John Stewart isn’t technically a journalist, but he is in a way, just like he’s not technically in politics, but he is in a way. His monologue about the shootings in Arizona was pretty much the most human thing I have ever heard:

<td style=’padding:2px 1px 0px 5px;’ colspan=’2′Arizona Shootings Reaction
The Daily Show With Jon Stewart Mon – Thurs 11p / 10c
www.thedailyshow.com
http://media.mtvnservices.com/mgid:cms:item:comedycentral.com:370499
Daily Show Full Episodes Political Humor & Satire Blog The Daily Show on Facebook
Posted in: My thoughts