Online journalism surpasses print

Posted on March 14, 2011

1


NOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!

Once again, Twitter is the bearer of bad news…

Per a tweet from NPR (@nprnews) today, I finally came to

Photo courtesy of sxc.hu

 terms with something that I have been stubbornly denying for some time now– the world is moving away from my precious print.

The Pew Research Center published their Pew Project for Excellence in Journalism each year and this year’s The State of the News Media 2011 lays it out in plain English:

  • “Fully 46% of people now say they get news online at least three times a week, surpassing newspapers (40%) for the first time.”
  • “In another milestone, more money was spent on online advertising than on newspaper advertising in 2010: Online advertising overall grew 13.9% to $25.8 billion in 2010, according to data from eMarketer.”
  • “The newspaper sector endured another year of revenue and audience declines. Advertising revenues fell by roughly 6.4% in 2010 from the year before. Weekday circulation fell 5% and Sunday fell 4.5%.”

Someone’s reply to this tweet really summed up the reason for the decline: “surf the web– swim in print,” said @dan_graeber. However, I don’t view this is a good thing. I think this is just another example of America’s rapidly declining attention spans.

And yet…I am a total hypocrite. I found out about Japan from my cnn.com homepage. I haven’t read the Columbus Dispatch in person in weeks. With the news literally at our fingertips why would we walk down to the newsstand and insert our precious quarters?

I do have one argument to that question and it goes back to my last post. Internet news is incredibly difficult to decypher from mere speculation. At least with print journalism you know that (hopefully!) you are reading credible information. And c’mon, how can you not like the feel of a newspaper in your hands? It’s magic. It’s instant history. Oh…I guess that was a poor choice of words, huh?

Posted in: My thoughts