PRCapital: A recap(ital?)

Posted on April 17, 2011

0


Up at 6:30 a.m? Check. Blister from my favorite heels? Check. Utter exhaustion? Check. Great time and some of the best advice I’ve ever been given? Double check. PRCapital: let’s break it down:

  • My cream cheese muffin and apple juice for breakfast was de-lish! Thanks to the wait staff who provided excellent food.
  • Brandi Hann (@BrandiHann) from SBC Advertising gave us GREAT office etiquette advice and it was so refreshing to have someone addressing those awkward touchy questions of office situations and how to react. Please check out her session on interviewing techniques with Otterbein PRSSA (@OtterbeinPRSSA) on Monday at 5p.m. in Towers Hall Rm. 122.
  • I met some pretty cool YPs at the crisis communication simulation, but totally FAILED at exchanging contact information. Good luck with all of your studies girls!
  • My chicken lunch was equally tasty, and I got the chance to chat with Robbie Banks (@robbiebanks) from the Columbus Chamber, as well as some successful Otterbein recent grads Jeana Harrington (@jeanaharrington) and Charlotte Halliday (@CHallidayPR). I was incredibly intimidated by such young professionals, but all in all I was relieved that even with the talk of such a terrible economy, people. are. getting. jobs.
  • The recent grad and “veteran” YP panels were absolutely the highlight of the event. SO many questions answered and SO many nerves calmed down (not entirely, but I wouldn’t be me if I wasn’t stressing about something.) Thanks to everyone who gave me business cards and offered to answer any future questions I may have (especially you Rebecca Odell! @rebeccaodell).

For my first PR conference I definitely give Ohio State PRSSA (@OhioStatePRSSA) a “winning!” Aaand on a side note, I’m pretty sure the Ohio Union is the same size as Otterbein’s entire campus. Just sayin.

Posted in: My thoughts