“We have not begun to explore new definitions of news.”

Posted on April 25, 2011

0


The title quote comes from Jeff Jarvis on Buzz Machine.

AEJMC tweeted the post from which this quote was printed earlier today and I have to say, Jarvis’s hard, pessimistic view on the slow death of print journalism broke my heart, but was refreshing. Check out his “reality checks for newspapers:”

“REALITY CHECKS FOR NEWSPAPERS

  • Circulation will continue to decline. There can be no doubt.
  • Cutting costs will reduce product quality and value, which will further reduce circulation. A vicious, unstoppable cycle.
  • Falling circulation will continue to reduce ad revenue.
  • Low-cost competitors and abundance will continue to reduce the price of advertising.
  • Local retail will continue to consolidate, further reducing ad revenue. Blame Amazon.
  • Classified categories—real estate, auto, jobs, merchandise—will continue to become more self-sufficient. They will need market mediators less and less.
  • There’s a cliff coming: the end of a critical-mass of circulation needed to maintain inserts. That will have a big impact on newspapers’ P&Ls and will take away a primary justification for still printing and distributing paper.
  •  Once fixed costs are sliced to the bone, they will rise again. Cutting alone does not a business strategy make.”

I don’t want to spoil the whole post, but I thought these were worth sharing. I love the feel of a newspaper, but it’s rational criticism like this that snaps me into the real world and helps me look at the broader picture of communications, so that I can explore other job opportunities that allow me to do the writing that I love with a little stability.

Oh, and speaking of job opportunities: I landed a paid summer internship at the Ohio Society of CPAs! I’ll be doing a lot of writing, which is a good thing, I promise and I think this will be a great opportunity for me to expand my boundaries and learn to be in a real work environment.

Posted in: My thoughts