Campus Coverage Project 2012

Posted on January 10, 2012

0


I made pivot tables. And I creeped on internet documents. And I went to that Mexican place twice in one night. The Campus Coverage Project 2012 was one of the most intense learning experiences of my life and I loved every minute of it.

There are few things more inspiring than being surrounded by people who share the same goals and the same passions with you and that’s just what I did this weekend, in Phoenix, AZ, at the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication (@Cronkite_ASU).

In the "First Amendment Forum."

The folks at IRE and NICAR (@IRE_NICAR) took us on a wild ride of investigative reporting techniques and we heard some of the best war stories from some of the nation’s best reporters, ranging from the New York Times to The Columbus Dispatch to the Chronicle of Higher Ed.

So, what did I learn? I learned that I can narrow my Google searches to include specific document types. I learned that an article is not worth reading unless you write a true story. I learned that there are about 70 student journalists out there who have every intention of making the world a better place.

I was going to include some concrete tips in a nice, neat list, from the pages upon pages of notes that I took, but then one of my fellow journalists from Indiana posted this on Facebook, and I just thought I couldn’t do any better than he. So, check it out.  And if you are wondering about the title of the post, it was a little game we played: replace “fire” in songs with “FOIA.” But only if you are as nerdy as we are.

  • “We Didn’t Start the FOIA”
  • “The Roof, The Roof, the Roof is on FOIA.”
  • “C’mon Baby Light My FOIA.”
  • Just to name a few. Please comment if you can think of any others.
Posted in: My thoughts