My tome.

Posted on April 30, 2012

0


Tome may be exaggerating a bit, but it is long. Roughly 2,200 words. I’m glad it’s off my plate.

It started out as a meeting with Otterbein police, student affairs and I. They said because we are a private school we are only allowed to view police reports that include criminal charges. Everything else goes through campus judicial and is an educational records, therefore covered under FERPA. What’s campus judicial, you ask? I asked the same thing. And it took me all year to get the ball rolling.  Click on either image to read the story.

The article continues onto the next page.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Things I learned from this article:

  • Campus judicial systems are not uncommon around the country.
  • According to our yearly Campus Crime Report, the number of alcohol violations that have gone through campus judicial are dropped from the 90s to the 30s in three years. Weird, huh?
  • If campus police are, in fact, an entity of the school and private as opposed to their own entity, that means that one office of the University charges the student, gives them a trial and determines his or her guilt. Something to think about.
