The one about the last week of the semester

Posted on May 9, 2012

0


Technically, as of nine minutes ago as I write this, I’m off work. For like three months.

Anyone who knows me knows that I will continue to work through the summer, and of course there is the tweeting to be maintained and a few loose ends to tie up to set Otterbein360.com adrift for the summer term, but technically, like the newspaper staff, I am off work.

For those who do not know it is tradition that if, during the last production week of the semester/quarter the paper is to the printer by 9 p.m., we all get to go out to eat with our adviser on the newspaper’s dime. This was the first semester in quite a while that the staff actually accomplished this goal, and yet here I am, perusing the internet past midnight still, because my brain knows it’s Tuesday (Wednesday, really) and it has conditioned itself to be up from 6 a.m. to the wee hours of the next morning.

And I’m all full of reflection, of course.  I got this award tonight. It’s on a paper plate, per another tradition:

My other one from this year is the “HBIC” award. I’ll let you figure out that acronym, but it has something to do with me being in charge. I love my paper plate awards, and I love that other people see how passionate I am about what I do, and reflect that onto paper plates with magic markers.  Thank you for my award, Michael Cirelli. And have as much fun at MSCNE12 as I did last summer at MSCNE11. It’ll change your life like it did mine.

The 360 line-up to watch out for before I leave you with some entertaining journalism Tumblr accounts and ride off into the sunset (until tomorrow morning, of course.): 

  • Freshman’s law guide to college: your rights and your not-rights
  • Between the Sheets: College Relationships, the T&C’s very own sex column by Dennison Sleeper geared toward freshman.
  • Fall sports rivalries
  • What you actually need and don’t need in a dorm room
  • Orientation info: the lowdown on Otterbein traditions
I could read #LikeACollegeJourno over and over again.

 When Someone Tells Me They Don’t Drink Coffee

And finally, I’ve been told #realtalk from your editor pretty accurately describes my editor-ship. Which is cool because I love Meryl Streep (who doesn’t though?).

WHEN NEWS BREAKS

