When PRSSA takes the west coast!

Posted on October 17, 2012

0


I am very proud to recap Otterbein PRSSA’s first experience in San Francisco this month at the 2012 National Conference “Bridging the Gap.”

I am honored to have won a Betsy Plank Memorial Award and Scholarship and and to represent my school nationally, but what was most exciting to me was seeing my PRSSA officers get excited about the field and take in all of the advice from the numerous great speakers that we had the privilege of listening to.

Most notably, we were in awe of Biz Stone, the co-founder of Twitter and his great advice on making opportunities for yourself and learning how to fail miserably sometimes before you can succeed.

Tim Westergren, the founder of Pandora Radio had everyone riveted as well, at a very early hour in the morning, as he spoke about Pandora’s creation and his philosophy behind the company. On behalf of Otterbein PRSSA, I would like to think PRSSA National for having us, and scholarship committee for giving me the honor of the award. After this conference, I have no doubt Otterbein PRSSA will be in good hands after I graduate in May. I mean, just look at them!

From left to right: Jonathan Hill, social media coordinator; Janie Riddle, promotions coordinator; Paige Schortgen, promotions coordinator; Lindsey Hobbs, president; Ashley Kraner, secretary

At the award ceremony and dinner. From left to right: Jonathan Hill, social media coordinator; Lindsey Hobbs, president; Paige Schortgen, promotions coordinator; Janie Riddle, promotions coordinator; Ashley Kraner, secretary

Lindsey, after being awarded the Betsy Plank Memorial Award and Scholarship at the PRSSA National Conference in San Francisco.

Posted in: My thoughts