My Holiday Break Challenge: Six Weeks to a More Peaceful Mind

Posted on December 11, 2012

0


Courtesy of newelementyoga.com

Courtesy of newelementyoga.com

I couldn’t remember if I brushed my teeth this morning before I left for my exam, so I think I ended up brushing them twice. I suppose there are worse things in life than twice-brushed teeth in the morning, but the point is that I am fried.

It’s senior year, and I’m sure it’s common for these final semesters to push students past their sanity, but I’m afraid if I don’t do something now, this will carry to next semester, where I will be interning for ODOT (yay!), and trying to find a new place to live and trying to find a life after college, so I will need to have my life in order and my focus at full capacity.

Please don’t think I am saying I’m unhappy or something! Because I am incredibly happy.

This dude right here makes me happy:

Jeremy and I on our way to Cantina Laredo for a nice dinner date!

Jeremy and I on our way to Cantina Laredo for a nice dinner date!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And these girls right here make me happy:

Roommate Christmas picture!

Roommate Christmas picture!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

However despite all of that I am feeling just plain stretched thin.

It’s probably because Walking Dead doesn’t come back on til February.

We have to wait til February when Daryl's life is in danger!?

We have to wait til February when Daryl’s life is in danger!?

Kidding. It’s actually probably because I don’t sleep, eat right, work out anymore, I am too plugged in, and my schedule for the past 15 weeks has not allowed for the little things. So here’s the plan:

1. I will blog, once a day, at least, starting on Monday, December 17.

I’ve always wanted to start my own newsletter, so here’s my perfect opportunity. No class for six weeks means a once-a-day quick hits on all things news on the web. And this habit will keep me in the zone, as well as keep me informed.

2. I will cook a real dinner once a week. And to add to that I will eat something green once a day.

This is an at least too, and I’ve technically already started on this challenge because I made chicken tortilla soup last night.

3. I will not look at my phone until I have been awake for at least 15 minutes.

This whole checking my notifications as soon as I open my eyes thing has got to stop. If I wait for 15 minutes, I can stretch, breathe, do a little jig, enjoy the quiet and all of the above. If I reverse this for the evenings too, I can probably fall asleep faster because they say you aren’t supposed to look at a lit screen right before falling asleep.

4. I will get back into working out.

I don’t remember the last time I ran a mile, and for those who read my senior goodbye column, you are aware that once college hit I went through a complete lifestyle and body transformation, so this is not like me at all. No running means no endorphins and that makes for a very grumpy, lethargic girl.

5. I will read a book. Maybe two!

I also don’t remember the last time I read a book that counted as intellectual, knowledge-furthering reading. I want to learn something new and not be tested on it. Ohh, maybe I can read a book when I’m not looking at my phone before bed!

6. And finally, I will donate the clothes that I do not wear before Christmas.

This is a goal for two reasons. One, because it is now on the internet, I am now accountable for this. And two, tis the season for giving and I want to pay it forward for all the times someone gave to me this semester. It’s been a good one, despite the stress, and I need to repay that.

That’s the story and I’m sticking to it. And hopefully by the beginning of the next semester I will be sharp as a tack again and my under-eye cream will be doing its job. Until then.

Posted in: My thoughts