Twitter and Nielsen are teaming up!

Posted on December 18, 2012

0


SPOILER ALERT: Dan is Gossip Girl. And the nation is disappointed.

SPOILER ALERT: Dan is Gossip Girl. And the nation is disappointed.

How cool is this!?

According to Gizmodo,  yesterday Nielsen announced that it was establishing a partnership with Twitter to develop a Social TV Rating.

This rating will be a supplement to the regular Nielsen ratings, and the hope is it will give analysts a better real-time picture of what people are watching and engaging with each other about online. Because Nielson ratings are notoriously off-base.

Will this work? Is it silly? I think it’s genius. Last night both #xoxogossipgirl and #TheVoice were trending nationally on Twitter for the Gossip Girl series finale on The CW network, and the music show The Voice on Fox. If that’s not data television networks can use, I don’t know what is.

However, I do foresee a problem for the television shows that do not have as massive of a Twitter presence as some of the staples that are on my newsfeed (Revenge, Gossip Girl, The Voice, The Walking Dead). Could this skew the data? Probably. Measuring television show data sounds like my dream job. But only if part of my benefit plan was a free Hulu+ subscription.

What do you think?

Posted in: My thoughts