Halfway through my holiday break peace of mind challenge

Posted on January 2, 2013

0


Three weeks in, folks. And I have to say, I am pretty pleased and halfway peaceful.

For starters, my room, my space, my sanctuary is neat and organized. And now I can breathe a little better.

I forgot that it was even brown.

I forgot that it was even brown.

Secondly, eating something green a day and getting back into my workout routine isn’t always easy, but it’s possible, and it just makes you physically feel a little better every day. I signed up for the Capital City Half Marathon on May 4! It’s my first half, I’m so excited!

Official training program starts Feb. 1! Wish me luck!

Official training program starts Feb. 1! Wish me luck!

Two other things I checked off my list were taking clothes to Goodwill and reading a book. I feel much better knowing that before Christmas, my closet was cleaner and someone could have possibly benefited from the clothes that I do not get the chance to wear anymore. Also, I chose a fun book for starters, in JK Rowling’s  “The Casual Vacancy.” I have about two chapters left, and it was a refreshing read away from academics with plenty of twists and colorful characters. It’s an easy read too, so I suggest picking it up for a vacation.

I always feel a little guilty about giving things away, but it's all for a good cause.

I always feel a little guilty about giving things away, but it’s all for a good cause.

box

 

 

What’s left for these next three weeks? Just carrying the momentum on forward, I suppose. That’s three more recipes to make for dinner (this week is blackened tilapia with couscous and veggies), plenty of time for another book (next is The Young Professional’s Survival Guide by C.K. Gunsalus) and 21 more blog posts. Shouldn’t be too difficult. After all, I’m getting more official by the minute.

badge

Posted in: My thoughts