The Young Professional’s Survival Guide

Posted on January 9, 2013

0


I got through my fun book, and was lucky enough to catch the spine of the post-titled book by C.K. Gunsalas. Woah, boy, I am all a-tizzy and soaking up every word.

9780674049444

That’s because it’s not your typical survival guide about what to wear, how to set up a LinkedIn profile, and internships, internships, internships! It’s actually about ethics so far, which, now that I think about it, is an area that I don’t feel like I have been fully prepared for, and to be honest, can never actually be fully prepared for.

It’s only the very first chapter, but the title of it stuck out to me from the start: “Start as you mean to go on.” This covers many ideas from setting good impressions and reputations that your co-workers will spread for you, but another idea that I hope to implement into a PRSSA meeting this semester is “Knowing Yourself” that way if you ever face an ethical dilemma, you have pre-determined ideas about yourself to guide you through the decision-making process.

The author, a professor of business ethics, suggests taking one of the plethora of values and personality inventories that are available online, to assess these things about yourself. We’re talking, do you work best in groups, do you need schedule flexibility, do you need your hard work to be recognized, are you OK with cheating if everyone else is doing it?

These are just a few examples of traits a young professional needs to indentify about his or herself before jumping out into the real world. I suggest my friends pick up a copy of this book 🙂

Posted in: My thoughts